To update or edit a volunteer's information for a specific opportunity, go to the opportunity. In the navigation menu, click People, and then click Volunteers.
View Volunteer Information
On the Volunteers page, you can see:
How many volunteers are in your opportunity
Whether or not volunteers have checked in
Volunteer roles
Contact information
Other columns you can add, such as: hours worked, contributions, availability, groups, tags, scheduling details, answers to form questions, tags, and more.
Edit Volunteer Information
You can select any volunteer from the volunteer list to view their individual profile and edit their details.
If a volunteer has claimed their account, you are only able to edit their email address and Opportunity-specific information. After an account has been claimed, profile data like name and contact information is only editable by the account owner. For more information on why, read our GDPR information page.
Update a Volunteer Email
From the volunteer profile, you can update a volunteer’s email address directly or ask the volunteer to accept an email change request.
You must send a request to volunteers who have claimed their accounts, who are associated with multiple organizations, or who have rejected a previous email change on their account.
You can make direct email changes to unclaimed accounts. Learn more about how volunteers can manage email change requests.
Update an Email Address on an Unclaimed Volunteer Account
To update a volunteer with an unclaimed account:
From the opportunity’s volunteer list, select the volunteer whose details you want to edit.
Select Profile Details.
In the Contact Information section, select Edit.
Enter the new email address.
Select Save Details.
Select Done.
The change reflects on the volunteer profile, and the volunteer receives an email confirming the new email address connected to their account.
Update an Email Address on a Claimed Volunteer Account
For claimed accounts connected to multiple organizations, volunteers receive an email notification at the new and old email addresses, and a confirmation email at the old email address. The confirmation email includes a link to undo the change, which is valid for 7 days.
To update a volunteer with a claimed account, who is associated with multiple organizations, or who has rejected a previous change:
From the opportunity’s volunteer list, select the volunteer whose details you want to edit.
Select Profile Details.
In the Contact Information section, select Change Login Email.
Enter the new email address.
Select Done.
The volunteer receives an email to their current email address prompting them to either accept or decline the change.
To confirm or manage notification settings for when a volunteer approves, declines, undoes, or leaves an email update request unanswered, read Enable and Manage Organization Notifications.
Tip: To edit a volunteer that is not connected to an opportunity, you can access their profile from the People tab on the main organization page.
Add Notes to Volunteer Profiles
In the Volunteer profile, you can also add internal notes and ratings. These notes act as a review of the volunteer, and the average of all the star ratings decides their overall rating. You can use this to keep an eye on the performance quality of your volunteers.
Note: The volunteers cannot read the notes you add, but other management can, depending on the permissions you configure.
To configure these permission settings, navigate to the General Opportunity Settings tab in your opportunity. In the Internal Notes & Star Rating Permissions section, you can decide who has permissions to read notes, write notes, or both.
You cannot edit them, though you can also remove or delete these internal notes. You must do this from the Organization level. To delete Internal Notes, follow these steps:
Open your organization. If you are in more than one organization, open the organization where you want to delete notes for a volunteer.
On the organization home page, click People, and then click Volunteers.
Click the name of the user whose internal note you are deleting.
Within the user's profile, click Internal Notes.
Click Remove for the note you want to delete.
Tip: You can also edit volunteer information directly from the Central Schedule page.




