This is the default setting for when a user is added to the Organization and is the lowest permission level. These users are most often referred to as Volunteers and do not have any administrative capabilities.
Note: Basic users can retain their status and also be assigned Opportunity Manager, Role Manager, Shift Manager and Check-in Manager capabilities in specific Opportunities.

